top of page

Steve Glick - Chair       Barbara Pittard - Emergency Coordinator        Thomas Brennan - Information Coordinator

The Wayne County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) helps the community by facilitating preparedness actions to promote safety during chemical release incidents, through the development and maintenance of the Wayne County Hazmat Plan.


The committee is made up of local community members from higher education, chemical industry, business leaders, media, and first responders of varying disciplines to promote safety by implementing SARA Title III duties, and any related public safety planning and actions as determined appropriate by LEPC membership.

The committee was organized under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), also known as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) passed by congress in 1986.


The Wayne County Hazmat Plan is maintained, updated, reviewed, and tested annually by the Wayne County Emergency Management Agency which outlines the procedures for immediate response to a chemical accident, ways to notify the public about actions they must take, names of coordinators at plants, and schedules and plans for testing the procedures.

The LEPC meets with businesses in the county who have and store chemicals that are considered hazardous to make sure that they are following federal and state regulations. The LEPC also looks at the storage techniques that the businesses use to store these chemicals. This helps the LEPC planner, the LEPC committee, and fire departments plan and prepare for incidents.

bottom of page